Fall is my absolute favourite season. I am rather new at this gathering and preserving and to my surprise, I like it. I love experimenting with herbs and trying many of Newfoundland’s vegetables and fruits in different ways. Black Currants in a green salad, partridgeberries in stuffing, apples in soup stock, pears in stir fries, turnip fries, zucchini fries, roasted beet, roasted carrot and apple soup, hot peppers in cabbage rolls, damson jam with very little sugar, etc.,etc.

Aunt Molly Ground Cherries

This plant was given to us by a friend. I had never heard of them.

I made the tray using a print by Jeannette Pope. Check out her Facebook page….Art by Jeannette

Aunt Molly Ground Cherry is an outstanding variety that originated in Poland. Fruits are 1.3-1.8cm(1/2” to3/4”) in diameter. Fruits mature to a golden orange colour and drop to the ground in their husks when ripe.”

http://mckenzieseeds.com

Aunt Molly Ground Cherry

Cindy’s Pears

Slow cooker applesauce and autumn, a combination that works well.

I was becoming a little distraught because of our having a very wet and foggy October here on the northeast coast but October has reaffirmed my belief in her today, and I can honestly say:

I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Keep it simple.

2 thoughts on “Fall, Food & Foliage in the Cove

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.